Is He Live or Is He a Stepford Clerk?

I went to the local Multiplex of a nationwide chain to purchase a gift card. I told the young man behind the counter enter X amount of dollars on the card. As he prepared the card he offered me the opportunity to sign up for a rewards card. I said  “No”. He continued with his recitation about the benefits for joining this elite club. I told him that I didn’t do reward cards. He continued with his pitch, never once acknowledging what I was saying. I placed my hands over my ears and said ‘lalalala.” He finished his script and I pulled my hands from my ears. As we walked away I said to my significant offer how surprised I was at the the young man’s (robot’s) behavior. My SO said he had to finish because his supervisor was standing next to him.

I’m sure my behavior was equally strange to him.

About izziferreel

Freethinker. Drummer, Singer, Songwriter: The Third Eye, Blackbird13, The Avantguardians. Actor: Raving Maniacs, Feeding the Masses. Also produced, wrote and acted in my short film Lonelyman51. Writer: lyrics, radio drama, horror tales and social criticism.
This entry was posted in Sociology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

